Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / HSIAO Sheng-Chien
Share on Twitter


Return, 2018, kinetic installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.



Return, 2018, kinetic installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.




HSIAO Sheng-Chien

The Seventh Genre: Habitat/Zoo/National Park



Hsiao remembers walking down the road as a child after school and seeing noisily chirping sparrows perched in trees and on telephone wires; before long, this utterly natural scene was no more. The development of modern industrial civilization has forever changed the environment and the way in which human beings live. In many places the sounds of frogs, birds and crickets have been replaced by the rumble of cars and trucks. I seek to recreate the familiar sounds of his childhood memories, using the very same industrial technology that powers these machines.

In the center of the gallery, a section of tree trunk slowly revolves like a turntable, artificially lit with the shadows of wires creating the impression of leaves and branches at dusk. Meanwhile an electronic device plays bird calls—with the sound alternating between sources to mirror the auditory effect of a flock of birds moving from tree to tree. Machinery which might usually be seen as enacting modern ‘progress’ is altered, humanized, to carry a sense of hand-made warmth. The slowed pace of Hsiao’s slowly rotating trunk points to the mechanics of old musical boxes, fairground rides even, and objects from earlier times which conjure distant memories.





Profile

Born in Tainan in 1968 and currently resides in Kaohsiung. Graduated from Graduate Institute of Plastic Arts, Tainan National College of the Arts in 2001. Hsiao specializes in using mechanical kinetic installation, and deliberately presents an innocent and crude craftiness through utilization of materials when constructing machines and assembling objects. Hsiao won Yageo Tech-Art Award in 2003, First Prize at Taipei Digital Art Awards in 2014, and First Prize at Kaohsiung Awards in 2018. He held many solo exhibitions and participated in multiple group exhibitions. He was invited to Taipei Biennial 2018, 2020 Taipei Dangdai, and OK Museum of Modern Art in Linz Austria.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 蕭聖健
Share on Twitter


《歸》,2018,機械動力裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。



《歸》(局部),2018,機械動力裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。




蕭聖健

第七品 棲息地/動物園/國家公園



創作自述

回憶小時候放學行經的路邊,樹上和電線桿上總停滿了麻雀,吱吱喳喳,好不熱鬧。曾幾何時,這幅過去以為再自然不過的景象,已不復存在。現代工業文明的發展,永遠改變了人們原本的生活方式和周遭環境。記憶中的田野蟲聲蛙鳴已被人車穿梭的雜沓聲所取代。我試著在工業文明的機械產物所製造出的聲音中,尋訪、重現幼時記憶裡熟悉的聲音。

展場中央置放轉盤,透過緩慢旋轉的樹幹切片,控制鳥鳴器叫聲的位置變換,以模擬鳥群在樹叢間集體移動的聲效。在燈光和交錯的電線裝置裡,製造出一種黃昏樹影的意象。被視為現代、進步象徵的機械,背負著濃濃的鄉愁。低科技手法的運用及刻意外露的繁機械結構,讓機械裝置有細膩的人性溫度。慢速轉動的中控台和舊時的生活物件,更召喚出一種懷舊的記憶共鳴。





簡歷

1968 年出生於臺灣臺南,目前定居於高雄市。2001 年畢業於國立臺南藝術學院造形藝術研究所。擅長運用機械動力裝置,在建構機械及組合物件時,刻意在材料運用上呈現出一種天真、粗糙的手工性。曾獲2003「國巨科技藝術獎」、2014「臺北數位藝術獎」首獎、2018「高雄獎」首獎等。舉辦多次個展及參與多次聯展,並曾受邀於2018 台北雙年展、2020 台北當代展、奧地利林茲OK 當代藝術中心等展出。