Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / CHEN Yu-Kai
Share on Twitter


Hsin in a Daze, 2019, acrylic, varnish resin, calcium carbonate, oil paint on canvas, 31.5 × 41 cm. Courtesy of the artist.



Before and After the Blank, 2019-2020, wood board, acrylic, varnish resin, epoxy resin, calcium carbonate, oil paint, canvas, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.




CHEN Yu-Kai

The Sixth Genre: Beast Mimic/Torured Beastnoid



In Chen’s work Before and After the Blank, facing the context of the blank area, the artist brings in possible imagination through disorder and finds security in the chaos of everyday life. As the artist manipulates random images in-between spontaneity and intuition, the work becomes an out-of-control character, allowing the artist to take it to the next step.

In this series of works, the artist depicts natural phenomena such as meteor showers, shooting stars, tornadoes, volcanoes, and supernatural images as UFOs. These combine with animal reactions to dramatic incidents, such as resistance, fear, confusion, and other intuitive, reflective actions. Chen also captures the animals’ response to resisting and ignoring natural disasters that he observes in the melancholy world of astronomical phenomena and natural disasters. Animals that symbolize the self stand in silence as if they are spiritless in a state of indifference. Their calmness reveals their helplessness of the futility of resistance.

Profile

Born in Taipei in 1991, lives in Sanchong. Graduated from Department of Arts and Design, National Taipei University of Education, in 2017. When studying in grad school, a work of his was rolled over and shattered by a giant wheel; despite the unexpected misfortune, he continued to exhibit the work. The experience made him reconsider the relationship between “creative work, self, and environment.” Held solo exhibition Shapes as Formality at King Car Cultural and Art Center in 2016 and won First Prize at Taoyuan Contemporary Art Award the same year. During residency in Beijing in 2017, Chen created the Dark series. In the same year, his work Mutation of Sulfur Mountain won the Excellent Work Award at Kaohsiung Awards. Participated in the Light Trail group exhibition at Whitestone Gallery Taipei in 2017. Held solo exhibition Trapped at Neptune Gallery in 2020.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 陳昱凱
Share on Twitter


〈放空的阿猩〉,2019,壓克力、樹脂、碳酸鈣、油彩、畫布,31.5 × 41 公分。藝術家提供。



〈白之前之後〉,2019-2020,木板、壓克力、樹脂、環氧樹脂、碳酸鈣、油彩、畫布,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。




陳昱凱

第六品 獸倣者/獸形人



創作自述

《白之前之後》面對空白區域的前後線索,透過失序將可能的想像帶入,在日常的失序裡找尋安全感。把隨機的圖像在失控與直覺間來回互動,作品成為一個失控的角色,使我帶他走過未完成的下一步。

此系列作中,描繪隕石、流星、龍捲風、火山等自然現象,以及飛碟等超自然畫面,結合面對事件劇變的動物反應,有著對抗、驚恐、迷惑等直覺反射,描繪於畫作中被突發力量在天文現象與災難構成的憂鬱世界中,觀察到畫上動物具有反抗災難、漠視災難的行為,象徵著自我的動物沈默佇立,彷若靈魂出竅般無視的樣貌,冷靜的態度如沈默地訴說著反抗無用的無奈。回應創作者創作生涯中,被摧殘的作品不再永恆,作為一個如何面對環境的巨變改變自身去找到出口。

簡歷

1991 年出生於臺灣臺北,居住於三重。2017 年取得國立臺北教育大學藝術與造形設計學系碩士。

在碩士期間一場作品撞擊事件導致作品被巨輪碾碎,面對無常之下,將作品展出,本次經驗使藝術家重新思考「創作之於自身及環境」之間的關係。2016 年於金車舉辦個展「成為形式的形狀」,同年獲得桃源創作獎首獎。2017 年於北京駐村,創作《灰暗》系列作品,同年以《硫磺山的突變》獲得「高雄獎」優選獎,「光之軌跡」聯展於白石畫廊。2020 年以《困獸園》系列於涅普頓畫廊舉辦個展。