Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / Paul GONG
Share on Twitter


The Appendix Human, 2019, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Sarah Kim (ACC.ACI).



Being, and Organs, 2019, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Crispian Chan.



Sloth Effect: NO. 2, The Dialogue between Fiction and Reality, 2020, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Andrew Kan.



Sloth Effect: NO. 2, The Dialogue between Fiction and Reality, 2020, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Andrew Kan.



Sloth Effect: NO. 2, The Dialogue between Fiction and Reality, 2020, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Andrew Kan.



Sloth Effect: NO. 2, The Dialogue between Fiction and Reality, 2020, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Andrew Kan.




Paul GONG

The Fourth Genre: Laboratory/Operating Room/Specimen Room



“We are, constitutively, companion species. We make each other up, in the flesh.”—Donna Haraway

As an extension to the context of Sloth Effect: NO. 1, The Rainforest of Axilla, this work is established on the observation of the symbiotic relationship between fungus in the hair of sloths (Bradypus tridactylus) and sloth moths in rainforests. Inspired by the finding that the fungus has the potential of resisting certain diseases, I imagine human axillary hair as miniature rainforests and wonder if biodiversity exists in the armpits, and whether we can be transformed into “The Bio-axillary Hair” through biotechnology. This work explores the relationship between Nature and ‘Unnature,’ as well as the social, cultural, aesthetical, and gender-related implications of axillary hair in contemporary society.

Sloth Effect: NO. 2, The Dialogue between Fiction and Reality presents the research, extended thinking, and creative presentation related to sloths and human axillary hair from the previous project. This work is a thought experiment interwoven with observations of Sloth Effect: NO. 1, The Rainforest of Axilla gathered from visitors over time, forming a collective imagination that enables dialogue between fiction and reality, an exchange between the artist and the audience, between speculative imagination and scientific research. A further question would be: as animals inspire us to reflect on our own possibilities as humans, perhaps humans and animals may progress from “companion species” to “communion species”?

Profile

Paul Gong (born 1988, Lincoln, Nebraska, the United States) is a speculative designer, artist, and curator.

He is currently Assistant Professor Rank Specialist of the Department of Industrial Design at Shih Chien University in Taipei. He holds an MA in Design Interactions from the Royal College of Art in London.

He was awarded the “Next Art Tainan Awards” in 2018 and the “Core77 Design Awards” in 2020. He sees design as a research method and thinking tool to explore different possibilities, to criticise the past and the present, and to speculate the future. His works Human Hyena and The Cow of Tomorrow have been featured in international media ranging from Dezeen and Core77. His works have also been exhibited internationally and The Appendix Human has been exhibited at Asian Culture Center in Gwangju and Taiwan Contemporary Culture Lab in Taipei.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 宮保睿
Share on Twitter


〈闌尾人〉,2019,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Sarah Kim (ACC.ACI) 提供。



〈存在與器官〉,2019,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Crispian Chan提供。



〈樹懶效應:NO.2,虛構與真實之間的對話〉,2020,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Andrew Kan提供。



〈樹懶效應:NO.2,虛構與真實之間的對話〉,2020,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Andrew Kan提供。



〈樹懶效應:NO.2,虛構與真實之間的對話〉,2020,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Andrew Kan提供。



〈樹懶效應:NO.2,虛構與真實之間的對話〉,2020,複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。照片由Andrew Kan提供。




宮保睿

第四品 實驗室/手術室/標本室



創作自述

「我們在本質上是同伴物種,我們在血肉之軀中互相彌補。」- 唐娜.哈洛威

延續〈樹懶效應:NO. 1,腋下的雨林〉的脈絡,透過雨林中,與樹懶飛蛾有特別共生行為的三趾樹懶毛髮裡的真菌類,有潛在可能性去抵禦某些特定疾病,進而想像人類腋毛如微小雨林的狀態,是否存有生物多樣性的可能,經由生物科技成為「生物腋毛人」。來探索自然與非自然之間的關係以及腋毛在現在社會中與社會、文化、美學與性別意涵之間的關係。

〈樹懶效應:NO.2,真實與虛構之間的對話〉嘗試釋出先前創作計畫之中,三趾樹懶與人體腋毛相關的研究、延伸思考過程與創作呈現,探索思想實驗的迴路,並交錯呈現經由長期收集觀者對於〈樹懶效應:NO. 1,腋下的雨林〉與自身腋毛的想像,透過集體式的想像,開展藝術家與觀者之間、推測想像與科學研究之間虛構與真實之間的對話,除此之外,更試著問:來自動物的啟發作為想像的源頭,成為人類反思自身的可能性,而人類與動物可否成為「同伴物種」更進一步的「共融物種」呢?

簡歷

為推測設計師、藝術家與策展人,1988 年生於美國內布拉斯加州林肯市,目前為實踐大學工業產品設計學系專任助理教授級專業技術人員,擁有英國皇家藝術學院設計互動系碩士,曾獲「2018 臺南新藝獎」與「2020 年美國Core77 設計大獎」。他認為設計是一種研究方法與思考工具,探索各種可能性,且批判過去與現在,推想未來。作品〈人類鬣狗〉、〈明日的牛〉被國際線上知名設計媒體 Dezeen 與 Core77 青睞報導,參與眾多國內外大型展覽,〈闌尾人〉也受邀於亞洲文化殿堂、空總臺灣當代文化實驗場展出。