Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / AU Sow Yee
Share on Twitter


Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2019, single-channel video, 4min 45 sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2019, single-channel video, 4 min 45 sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2019, single-channel video, 4min 45sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2019, single-channel video, 4 min 45 sec. Courtesy of the artist.



1.1: Tiger Cave, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2020, single-channel video, 6min 45sec. Courtesy of the artist. (The work is supported by the Taishin Bank Foundation for Arts and Culture)



Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts, 2019, single-channel video, 4 min 45 sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Prelude: Song of Departure, part of The Extreme Journey of Perwira and the Calm Sea: In 3 Acts (Installation View), 2019, single-channel video, 4 min 45 sec. Courtesy of GUO Jau-Lan.




AU Sow Yee

The Third Genre: Portrait of Unknown Heroes



Japanese intelligence agent Tani Yutaka, a member of the F agency, one of Japan’s intelligence agencies in the 1940s, spoke fluent Malay. In 1911, he was born in Fukuoka, Japan, and later moved with his parents in northeastern Malaysia, where he became a bandit to avenge his younger sister’s death. Tani Yutaka’s story has been filmed in 1943 and 1989 and adapted into the television series “Bandit Harimau” (快傑ハリマオ)in 1960 and 1961. “Harimau” (ハリオ) is known as Malay word for “Tiger.” The series re-imagine Tani Yutaka’s journey on the sea and in his life.

As a reference to the South, the tiger is also Japan’s mental appearance attached to its human figures on the map of the Greater East Asia Co-Prosperity Sphere. During the Japanese occupation, Taiwan was considered the northernmost spot of the South, and how did Japan view the further South? A sleeping tiger is like the sleeping South, the hot, lazy, and unprogressive periphery. “Malayan Tigers” in the tropical rainforest are still named after the colonists, and they drowsily continue their journey to the uncharted fields in their human forms.







Profile

Born in Malaysia, Sow Yee now lives and works in Taipei. Au’s works focus mainly in questioning, exploring as well as expanding the relation between images, image making, historiography, politics and power, through video installation and other media. A finalist for the “2018 Asia Pacific Breweries Foundation Signature Art Prize” and “Han Nefkens Foundation – Loop Barcelona Video Art Award 2018,” Sow Yee’s works were exhibited in MMCA, Seoul; Mori Art Museum, Tokyo; HKW, Berlin; Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai; Singapore Film Festival among others. Sow-Yee is also a guest writer for online magazine, No Man’s Land, and co-founded “Kuala Lumpur’s Rumah Attap Library and Collective” in 2017.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 區秀詒
Share on Twitter


〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之1.1:老虎洞〉,2020,錄像,6分45秒。藝術家提供。(本創作獲第18屆台新藝術獎入圍推廣補助)



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。



〈靜海武士的極盡旅程(三幕劇)之序:啟航之歌〉裝置現場,2019,錄像,4分45秒。藝術家提供。




區秀詒

第三品 無名戰爭肖像



創作自述

日籍情報員谷豐(Tani Yutaka)為1940年代日本情報部門之一F機關的一員,說得一口流利馬來語,1911年在日本福岡出生後即隨父母到馬來半島東北部生活,為了報妹妹被殺之仇而變成俠盜。谷豐的故事曾於1943年和1989年被拍成電影,並於1960 到1961年間改編成電視劇「快傑ハリマオ」。「ハリマオ」為馬來語中的老虎—Harimau—之擬音。此系列作品重新想像谷豐的海上和人生旅程。

虎作為南方的指涉,亦是日本在大東亞共榮圈的版圖上,用以附身於人形上的精神皮層。日治時期被視為南方最北端的臺灣,又如何看待更南的南方。沈睡的虎就像是沈睡的南方,炎熱、慵懶不上進的邊境之南。熱帶雨林中依然以殖民者命名的「馬來亞之虎」(Malayan Tiger),在半夢半醒之間,以他的人形附身繼續未明的旅程。







簡歷

出生及成長於馬來西亞吉隆坡,現生活與工作於臺灣臺北。區秀詒的創作主要以錄像、觀念、裝置等混合形式,探討和擴延影像與影像製造以及和歷史書寫、政治、權力之間的關係。曾入圍「2018年亞太藝術獎」以及「2018 哈恩內夫肯影像收藏基金會—巴塞羅納Loop 錄像藝術獎」。作品曾在首爾國立當代美術館、東京森美術館、柏林世界文化之家、上海外灘美術館、新加坡國際電影節等地發表。她也是「數位荒原」特約作者,吉隆坡「亞答屋84 號圖書館」共同創辦人之一。