Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / CHENG Hsien-Yu
Share on Twitter


Afterlife Ver.2.0, 2013, recycling electronic components, plexiglass, micro-controller, 8bit IC, plastics, tube-light, wood, steel, LCD monitor, 67.5 × 30 × 30 cm, stand 80 – 120 cm. Private Collection.




CHENG Hsien-Yu

The Second Genre: The Sub-history of Wildlife Trade



“Life in the real world←Installation→Life in the virtual world”

“Imagine life at its simplest, regardless of size, shape, proportion, ...”

Lives in the real world are collected and converted into the virtual world of gaming. The main characters have the same number of lives as the lives captured by the installation, which acts as an agency connecting the real and virtual worlds. The total number of insect lives terminated by the installation shows up on the display, which is then converted into the game as the number of lives of the insect characters. When visitors play the game and lose lives, the number of lives displayed on the installation decreases accordingly.



Profile

Majored in Stage Design and Lighting Design at the Department of Theatrical Design and Technology, TNUA, and earned M.F.A. degree at Academe Minerva, Frank Mohr Institute, Hanze University of Applied Sciences Groningen in the Netherlands. Cheng is currently an artist and software developer. Selected to Dutch Young Talent in 2011, and won First Prize at the Taipei Digital Art Awards in 2013, First Prize of New Media Art at the Kaohsiung Awards in 2017, and Tung Chung Art Award in 2019. Held several solo exhibitions mainly in Taiwan, Asia, and Europe. Recently participated in Guangzhou Triennial, Hong-Gah Video Biennial, and group exhibitions in the Netherlands, Slovenia, Norway, Italy, and France.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 鄭先喻
Share on Twitter


〈Afterlife Ver.2.0-生命的來來去去〉,2013,回收電子零件、塑膠玻璃、微型控制器、八位元晶片、塑膠、燈管、木料、金屬支架、液晶螢幕,67.5 × 30 × 30 公分,支架80 – 120 公分。私人收藏。




鄭先喻

第二品 生物經貿潛史



創作自述

「現實世界的生命 ←裝置→ 虛擬世界的生命」

「想像生命就只是簡單的生命,無關於大小,形體,比例……」

收集現實世界的生命,再將生命轉入虛擬的遊戲世界;遊戲中主要角色的生命與裝置收集到的生命數量相對等,裝置本身成為真實與虛擬生命之間的中介容器,裝置經由終結昆蟲生命的數量會藉由裝置上的顯示器以總累計數值的方式顯示,並對等轉生至遊戲中,成為昆蟲角色的生命量,反之當觀眾進行遊戲時所損失的生命數量也會減少裝置的收集總數。

簡歷

臺北藝術大學劇場設計系舞台設計與燈光設計主修,並於荷蘭格羅寧根漢斯大學藝術學院(Frank Mohr Institute Academe Minerva)取得藝術碩士,現為藝術家與軟體開發人員。2011 年獲得荷蘭young talent 入選,2013 年獲臺北數位藝術獎首獎,2017 年獲高雄美術獎新媒體藝術組優選,2019 年獲得銅鐘藝術賞。個展與聯展於臺灣、亞洲與歐洲等地展出,近期參加「廣州三年展」、「鳳甲錄像雙年展」,其作品亦於荷蘭、斯洛維尼亞、挪威、義大利、法國等地展出。