Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / LO Sheng-Wen
Share on Twitter


Collecting, Cleaning and Sewing, Down, 2017, video installation (video stills), dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.




LO Sheng-Wen

The Second Genre: The Sub-history of Wildlife Trade



While shopping for winter jackets, I realised that it is impossible for me to tell where exactly the feathers of mass-produced down jackets came from 1. Therefore, I attempted making my own down jacket in a relatively harmless way: by manually collecting the goose feathers on the grounds in the parks2, riverbanks, and forests near my house in Breda, the Netherlands.

After two months of collecting3, cleaning, filling and sewing, the jacket was put to test in the High Arctic (Spitsbergen archipelago) for three weeks to see if I can survive4. During this sailing expedition of The Arctic Circle Residency5, I made 21 landings and glacier hikes between 78°17'N-80°02'N, wearing only this jacket and minimum base layers. A guide booklet “A Step by Step Guide for Making Your Own Down Jacket” was designed based on my experiences to allow everyone to make a down jacket from where they live.

This project was made possible by: Mondriaan Fonds, The Arctic Circle Residency, BredaPhoto International Photo Festival

Graphic design and illustration: Hung Yi-Hsien

Notes:
1Despite recent regulations, there are debates about the percentage of down production that still involves animal-cruelty. 
2Common habitats for escaped farm geese, and migrating Canadian geese.
3Approximately 3000 feathers collected, 80 grams (50% of target amount).
4Condition monitored with temperature sensors, thermal camera and heart-rate sensors. 
51st-19th October, 2017, before polar winter.

















Profile

Lo Sheng-Wen, born in 1987 in Kaohsiung, based in Amsterdam, is interested in relationships between non-humans and societies, and attempts to spark off debates. He uses various media, including still/moving images, sound, video games and installations. He received his MA Photography from AKV|St.Joost, the Netherlands, and MSc in Computer Science from the Computer Music Lab at National Taiwan University.

Lo is the creative director of Lightbox Photo Library, and an artist in resident at The Arctic Circle Residency (2017) and Rijksakademie (2019-2021) in Amsterdam. His held his most recent museum solo in FOAM Fotografiemuseum, funded by NCAF, Mondriaan Fonds, De Nederlandsche Bank, and Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 羅晟文
Share on Twitter


蒐集、清理與縫製,〈羽絨〉,2017,錄像裝置(截圖),尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。




羅晟文

第二品 生物經貿潛史



創作自述

在選購冬季外套時,我發現很難確認市售羽絨外套的鵝毛來源1。因此,我試以相對無害的方式自製羽絨衣:手動撿拾掉在住處(荷蘭布雷達市)附近公園、河堤、森林邊2的鵝絨。

經兩個月的蒐集3、清理與縫製,我到北極(斯瓦巴群島)試穿外套三週看看能否存活4。在北極圈駐村5(78°17'N-80°02'N)21次登陸、攀登冰川全程,我穿了此外套與少量底層衣。另依經驗設計了「自己的羽絨外套自己做」手冊,讓大家都可自製羽絨外套。

本計畫由以下機構支持:荷蘭蒙德里安基金會、北極圈駐村計畫、布雷達國際攝影節

平面與插畫設計:洪儀仙


1縱使現有來源認證,產品中以殘酷方式取得的絨毛有多少,仍具爭議。
2水域常有農場逃出的白鵝、遷徙中的加拿大雁。
3共撿拾約3000根絨毛(80克),為目標量一半。
4由熱感相機、溫度、心率傳感器量測身體狀態。
52017年10月1至19日,永夜前。

















簡歷

1987 年出生於臺灣高雄,現居荷蘭,畢業於荷蘭AKV St. Joost 攝影所、臺大電機所。他關注非人生物與社會間的關係,並介入、試圖誘發討論,常使用錄像、攝影、電玩、聲音、裝置。完成學業後,現為Lightbox 攝影圖書室創意總監,駐村於北極圈與荷蘭皇家藝術村(Rijksakademie)。近作個展於荷蘭FOAM 攝影美術館,並獲國藝會、荷蘭蒙德里安藝術基金會、荷蘭央行、伯恩哈德王子文化基金會資助。