Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / Chu ChunTeng
Share on Twitter


Rooftop, 2018-2019, three-channel video 6.1  sounds multimedia installation, HD, 13 min 35 sec (loop). Courtesy of the artist. Music and Sound Design: SHENG.



Rooftop, 2018-2019, three-channel video 6.1  sounds multimedia installation, HD, 13 min 35 sec (loop). Courtesy of the artist. Music and Sound Design: SHENG.



Rooftop, 2018-2019, three-channel video 6.1  sounds multimedia installation, HD, 13 min 35 sec (loop). Courtesy of the artist. Music and Sound Design: SHENG.




Chu ChunTeng

The Second Genre: The Sub-history of Wildlife Trade



Yunnan’s Tengchong, the city is known for its production of jadeite and the practice of stone gambling, which refers to betting on the value of raw jadeite stones because it is impossible to determine a jadeite stone’s worth before it is cut open and polished.

Since China does not have any jadeite mines, the country relies on importing the precious stone from Burma, rendering Tengchong a crucial geographical gateway for jadeite import, export as well as jadeite processing businesses in China and giving birth to the local culture of stone gambling.

In 2018, I arrived at this border city, and my first impression of it was its innumerous stone processing factories and jadeite products everywhere in the city. A seemingly ordinary stone can be processed and turned into a precious, valuable piece of jadeite jewelry. The frenzy demonstrated by the locals and tourists towards the raw jadeite stones made me wonder about the significance and meaning of a stone.

One of the most eye-catching event for me in Tengchong was that thousands of people would gather at a certain site to dig jadeite in the city’s historic town. In the past few years, urban renewal plans have been carried out; and whenever an old building was torn down, thousands of people would come afterwards and hope to find some of the leftover jadeite thrown away and buried at the site since the Ming and Qing dynasties. The incessant hammering created countless deep holes on the ground, in which hundreds of people would still be digging inside. It was a surreal scene reminiscent of an archaeological site. These people dig as if all their future hopes relied on this never-ending action.

The organizer of this artist residency is the largest real estate developer in Yunnan, and the residency venue locates in its latest development project. Upon arrival at the venue, my entire body was conquered by the comfortable atmosphere that this neighborhood of villas was immersed in.

Nevertheless, as my stay unfolded, a sense of unrealness and detachment grew stronger and stronger. It was until one day that I encountered the cleaning maid whose job was to clean the display house that this feeling vanished. The cleaning lady’s job was to keep everything immaculate, and therefore, no one knew the display in the house better than her. However, she was not allowed to sit or leave any traces of her existence in the house. This encounter immediately pulled me back into reality. I had been living in a dream-like world constructed and maintained by others, she was simply a passenger trapped inside of it.

My three-week stay in Tengchong put me through a journey of traversing through a parallel universe charged with desires. I was also torn by the unignorable conflicts and contradictions between reality and future, which pushed me into a vortex similar to the life of the jadeite miners who have been stuck in a cycle of digging, waiting and digging again.

Profile

Born in 1982 in Taipei, Taiwan, Chu ChunTeng received his M.F.A. from Goldsmith University of London (2010). He made a number of feature films and participated in international film festivals while in college. Upon receiving B.A. in film, he shifted toward installation and video. Chu is deeply concerned with the dilemma of individuals in the social hierarchy and political conflicts of modern society. He has exhibited extensively, including the Taipei Biennial 2014, Kunsthaus Essen, Shanghai Contemporary Art Museum, Glasgow Center for Contemporary Arts, and Herzliya Museum of Contemporary Art. In 2013 Chu founded a co-working art space “Polymer” in Taipei, which promotes interdisciplinary art practices and artistic experiments, and served as its first executive director until 2016.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 朱駿騰
Share on Twitter


〈天台〉,2018-2019,三頻道影像6.1聲道多媒體裝置、HD,13分35秒(循環),藝術家提供。音樂,聲音設計:晟。



〈天台〉,2018-2019,三頻道影像6.1聲道多媒體裝置、HD,13分35秒(循環),藝術家提供。音樂,聲音設計:晟。



〈天台〉,2018-2019,三頻道影像6.1聲道多媒體裝置、HD,13分35秒(循環),藝術家提供。音樂,聲音設計:晟。




朱駿騰

第二品 生物經貿潛史



創作自述

雲南騰衝,最為外人所知的便是翡翠與賭石。但中國本身沒有產出只能仰賴緬甸進口,騰衝自古成爲中國翡翠進出口與加工的門戶─而翡翠原石最弔詭的地方就在於:在真正被打磨切開前,光憑外表永遠猜不透玉石的價值,當地的賭石文化也應運而生。

2018年我來到這中緬邊境小城,遍地的玉石加工場與翡翠成為我認識騰衝的起點:一塊塊看似普通的石頭被加工成昂貴的翡翠首飾,當地與外地遊客面對這些翡翠原石所展露出的狂熱,我開始思考一塊石頭的重量與意義。

老城區挖玉現場是最吸引我的事件。這些年騰衝開始都市更新計畫,每當一棟棟老建築倒下,總會吸引成千上萬人前來,想要重新挖出明清以來加工後被隨意丟棄在地基的翡翠邊角料。地上一個個深不見底的洞穴,上千人埋頭挖掘,彷彿一種超現實感的考古場面,他們像是所有的希望都寄託在挖掘的動作上。

彼時駐村主辦方正是雲南最大開發商,而駐地就位在最新開發建案的樣品屋中。第一天抵達,我的身體感就完全被度假社區營造出的氛圍所征服。而隨著居住的時間越長,不真實感越來越強烈,直到一天早上,我撞見每天例行打掃的阿姨:她的工作就是讓一切維持一塵不染,沒有人比她更熟悉屋裡的陳設;但她不被允許坐下,也不能在屋裡留下任何個人痕跡。我開始有了真實感。這是一個被眾人建構與維持出來的夢,而她就像是被困在夢裡的過客。

在駐地騰衝的三個禮拜,每天的我在這些平行世界與慾望中穿梭,無法忽視現實與未來之間劇烈的衝突與矛盾。像是那些挖玉人般不斷挖掘─等待─再挖掘,反覆循環,卻也越陷越深。

簡歷

1982 年出生於臺灣臺北,2010 年畢業於英國倫敦金匠大學。大學時主修電影,曾執導多部實驗短片。創作以裝置與影像為主,關注並嘗試回應個人在面對當下社會/政治/文化等複雜結構下,所面臨的困境與生存狀態。近來個展包括:「來去匆匆」(關渡美術館,2020)、「天台」(當代藝術館,2019)、「八月十五」(覓空間,2017)等。參與的聯展包括:「2014 台北雙年展」、「我從我的小眼睛監視著」(德國埃森當代美術館,2012)、「移動中的邊界」( 特拉維夫荷茲利亞當代藝術中心,2012)等。2013 年創立「空場藝術聚落」,擔任首任營運總監至2016 年。