Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / HSU Chia-Wei
Share on Twitter


Black and White - Giant Panda, 2018, five-channel video installation, 52 min 48 sec. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Black and White - Giant Panda, 2018, five-channel video installation, 52 min 48 sec. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Black and White - Giant Panda, 2018, five-channel video installation, 52 min 48 sec. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Stones and Elephants, 2019, two-channel video installation, 13 min. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Stones and Elephants, 2019, two-channel video installation, 13 min. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Stones and Elephants, 2019, two-channel video installation, 13 min. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.



Stones and Elephants, 2019, two-channel video installation, 13 min. Courtesy of the artist. Photo by Hsu Chia-Wei Studio.




HSU Chia-Wei

The Second Genre: The Sub-history of Wildlife Trade



In Black and White – Giant Panda, a panda is used as the entry point and acts as a connection between politics, history, animals, people and non-humans to tell the history of panda diplomacy.

Pandas were smuggled or traded several times from China at the beginning of the 20th century. Panda fever started when they appeared in the United States and Europe. They played an important diplomatic role in World War II, the Cold War, and still does to this day. Pandas also linked the complicated relationship between the United States, Europe, Russia, Japan, Taiwan, and China.

As a result of cooperation with the Manzaishis, panda’s lovely image is used as a material for comedy performance; meanwhile, the historical and political issues of panda diplomacy are described amusingly. In Black and White – Giant Panda, performance, historical materials, and the screen window viewing experience reflect and complement each other.

Stones and Elephants is derived from the Malay classic The Hikayat Abdullah. The author Abdullah chronicled his life in Malaysia. This art piece excerpted two chapters from this literary classic to serve as narration. One depicts how the British destroyed the strong fortress to weaken Malacca. The other chapter describes William Farquhar hired a Malay shaman to order a round-up of elephants.

In this piece, the artist invited a Malay shaman to read these two stories in Malay as a voice-over and to pray for a peaceful filming trip. The unique perspective offered by the drone allowed, creating a unique human and non-human communication between the Malay shaman, the drone and elephant.

This work must be connected to the Internet to search for keywords related to this work in real-time. This networking technology corresponds strongly with the network between the transmission tower and the drone in the film; with technology and the internet as a vessel for memories, attempting to reorganise untraced historical scenes that have been lost to time.

Profile

Graduated from Le Fresnoy - Studio national des arts contemporains, France, Hsu Chia-Wei stresses specifically on the actionability underneath image creation when comes to the practice of art, while linking up the relationships of humans, materials, and places omitted in the narrative of the conventional history through establishing the incidents beyond camera. Hsu has had solo exhibitions at MoNTUE, Taipei, Taiwan (2019), Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, Japan (2018). He has participated in exhibitions at Eye Filmmuseum, Amsterdam, Netherlands (2019), Biennial at Shanghai, Gwangju, Busan and Sydney (2018). He also co-curate the 2019 Asian Art Biennial at National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts (2019) with Ho Tzu-Nyen.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 許家維
Share on Twitter


〈黑與白—熊貓〉,2018,五頻道錄像裝置,52分48秒。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈黑與白—熊貓〉,2018,五頻道錄像裝置,52分48秒。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈黑與白—熊貓〉,2018,五頻道錄像裝置,52分48秒。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈石頭與大象〉,2019,雙頻道錄像裝置,13分。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈石頭與大象〉,2019,雙頻道錄像裝置,13分。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈石頭與大象〉,2019,雙頻道錄像裝置,13分。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。



〈石頭與大象〉,2019,雙頻道錄像裝置,13分。藝術家提供。圖片由許家維工作室提供。




許家維

第二品 生物經貿潛史



創作自述

〈黒與白:熊貓〉以熊貓做為切入點,貫穿政治、歷史、動物等人與非人之間的連接,講述一段熊貓外交的歷史。

二十世紀開始,熊貓多次被偷渡或買賣交易離開中國,當他們現身美國或歐洲時,曾經席捲一股熊貓熱。他們分別在二戰、冷戰時期以及今日,扮演著重要的外交角色,也連結美國、歐洲、俄羅斯、日本、臺灣與中國之間千絲萬縷的錯綜關係。

透過與日本「漫才師」合作,以熊貓可愛的形象為喜劇演出的材料,用詼諧的言語描述熊貓外交的歷史與政治問題。〈黒與白:熊貓〉結合當時的表演影像、歷史材料與螢幕視窗的觀看經驗相互映照與補充,透過漫才師的敘事重新在熊貓的移動與交換拓展出歷史、國際政治的樣貌。

〈石頭與大象〉的故事背景援引於馬來新文學經典〈阿都拉傳〉,作者阿都拉將其在馬來西亞生活的所見所聞記錄下來。此作品截取其中兩章節作為旁白:第一部分是有關英國人如何以火藥破壞麻六甲城牆的故事。第二個部分則是有關麻六甲總督威廉・法夸爾雇用巫師圍捕大象的情景。

在這件創作中,藝術家請到馬來巫師以馬來文朗讀此兩段故事做為畫外音,並為拍攝過程祈福。透過空拍機的特殊視點,形成馬來巫師、空拍機和大象之間人與非人的交流。

此作品在展出時需連接網路,針對與作品相關的關鍵字進行即時的搜尋。此網絡技術與影像中的電塔網絡有所交互及呼應,透過科技網絡作為記憶載體,藉此重組已不可考的歷史情景。

簡歷

1983 年出生於臺灣臺中,現生活與工作於臺灣臺北。2016 年畢業於法國國立當代藝術工作室,在藝術實踐的方式上,特別著力於影像創作背後的行動性,並透過建立鏡頭以外的事件,連結正規歷史描述所未及的人、物質與地方的關係。曾舉辦的個展包括:北師美術館(2019)、日本森美術館(2018)等。參與過的聯展包括:荷蘭國家電影資料館(2019)、光州、釜山、上海及雪梨雙年展(2018)等。他也與新加坡藝術家何子彥共同策畫2019 亞洲藝術雙年展。