Home / Exhibition / Artists- Flashmob Art Plan / CHI Kai-Yuan
Share on Twitter


Sticky Rice Turtle, 2017, two-channel video installation, 16 min 9 sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Sticky Rice Turtle, 2017, mixed media, 310 × 180 × 190 cm. Courtesy of the artist.



Sticky Rice Turtle, 2017, mixed media, 310 × 180 × 190 cm. Courtesy of the artist.




CHI Kai-Yuan

The First Genre: Sacrifice and Salvation



For me, the Sticky Rice Turtle series marks the beginning of a relationship and is also the first step of artistic self-reflection. This work connects me with my grandmother and reminds me of my childhood memory of watching pastry chefs make sticky rice turtles. This unique connection has become the inspiration for the first work of the Qi-gui series in 2017, which shows the “routine labor” I have established with two pastry chefs that takes place every year in the run-up to the Lantern Festival. By making these sticky rice turtles, the craftsmanship is memorized by the body. The process is filmed in a quasi-documentary style so that the pastry chefs’ making of sticky rice turtles is captured in a way that is close to how the act is experienced physically. The two-channel video and the dream-like independent soundtrack are presented as the three lines of narration, implying the intimacy between myself and this cultural practice. Deep inside the work is a display shelf in the shape of a turtle tail, displaying Qi-gui videos that have been collected since I was seven. When the Lantern Festival and the days of making sticky rice turtles are over, dreams become compensation to yearning, while the video becomes a method of retracing time.

Qi-gui is a devotional practice along the southern coast of Taiwan. Often during the Lantern Festival, temples will commission pastry chefs in making “Sticky Rice turtles” of various sizes, while people pray to the gods for blessings and prosperity by casting bwa-bwei moon blocks (wooden divination tools which are used in pairs to answer a yes or no question), confirmed by the gods through three consecutive shing-bwei “divine answers” (with one block flat and the other round). The person granted prosperity turtle is blessed with prosperity and care for the upcoming year, and will return the next year with an order heavier or with more turtles than the year before, continuing year after year.

Profile

Born in Kaohsiung, Taiwan in 1983, Chi is a PhD student in the Graduate School of Contemporary Visual Culture and Practice at National Taiwan University of Arts. With participation of artist residencies in recent years, he continues to explore the relationship between “space/place” and “people/culture,” utilizing quotidian objects as the main medium in his work. He was selected in the residency program in New York by Asian Cultural Council, and has completed residencies at Gyeonggi Creation Center (Korea, 2018), Schaumbad (Austria, 2017), International Studio & Curatorial Program (New York, 2016), 18th Street Arts Center (Los Angeles, 2015), Pier-2 Art Center (Kaohsiung, 2014) and Treasure Hill Artist Village (Taipei, 2013). In 2014, he was awarded the Grand Prize of Taipei Arts Awards, and held his solo exhibition at Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 2017.

首頁 / 展覽 / 參展藝術家- 快閃行為計畫 / 紀凱淵
Share on Twitter


〈米糕龜〉,2017,雙頻道錄像裝置,16分9秒。藝術家提供。



〈米糕龜〉,2017,複合媒材,310 × 180 × 190公分。藝術家提供。



〈米糕龜〉,2017,複合媒材,310 × 180 × 190公分。藝術家提供。




紀凱淵

第一品 獻祭與救贖



創作自述

〈米糕龜〉這組作品對我而言,是一段關係的展開,同時也是藝術上回望自身的第一步。它連結著我與外婆,以及從小觀看糕餅師傅製龜的成長經驗。在2017年時,我把這段獨特的關係,做成「乞龜系列」的首部曲。內容包含每年元宵前夕我與兩位師傅建立起的「例行勞動」,藉由實際參與製作米糕龜,讓身體記住這項手藝,並以類紀錄片式的方法拍攝,將師傅製龜的過程做了最貼近身體經驗的捕捉。而展覽中我選用雙頻道錄像的形式,加上具夢境感的獨立配樂成為三條敘事,隱約訴說著我與這個文化最私密的連結,且在作品深處擺放一個龜尾造型的展示台,裝載著一批我從7歲開始記錄至今的乞龜影像檔案。我想,在非元宵製龜的日子裡,夢境是思念的補償,而影像則讓時間得以回望。


「乞龜」是臺灣南部沿海一帶的傳統文化,已流傳有百年之久。通常在元宵節時,寺廟會委託糕餅店的師傅製作各種尺寸的「米糕龜」,讓人們以擲筊的方式,向神明乞龜回家吃平安,擲出三個聖筊即可將龜迎回。而求到龜的人,代表著新一年的福氣與庇祐,並待隔年元宵再訂製一隻添加重量的龜來還,如此年年延續。

簡歷

1983 年出生於臺灣高雄,目前就讀於臺灣藝術大學當代視覺文化博士班。近幾年藉由國內外駐村的機會,持續關注「空間/地方」與「人/文化」的關係,並使用日常生活中的物件作為發展作品的主要媒介。2015 年獲選「ACC 亞洲文化協會獎助計畫」至紐約駐村,另曾駐村於韓國GCC 京畿道創作中心、奧地利Schaumbad 藝術村、紐約ISCP 國際藝術工作室、洛杉磯18 街藝術特區、駁二藝術特區、寶藏巖國際藝術村等地。2014 年獲「臺北美術獎」首獎,並於2017 年在臺北市立美術館舉辦個展。