Home / Collateral Events / Waley Art
Share on Twitter

Waley Art

About the space

Waley Art is the contemporary art alternative space founded in August 2014 and located in Taipei City, Taiwan. It focuses on local culture and history of Galaya - an area in the south Wan Hua District. Waley Art also concerns about our community building, artist-in-residence programs, and international curatorial planning. In 2016, Waley Art held the Galaya art Festival, which themed with the cultural history of the region. In 2018, Waley Art hosted the South Sour Water / Performance and Visual Art Festival and operated the Taiwan Monga Culture Creative Center attached to the Taipei City Government. Waley Art had cooperated with museums, art festivals, biennials and art institutions around the world, including Russia, Poland, Germany, Austria, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, Bangladesh, Argentina.

About the exhibition

Zoo of Inverted Forms: The Ultimate Other for Imaging Humanity
“Horse” is the animal most often used to introduce Plato’s “Theory of Forms.” According to the philosopher, there is an eternal and perfect horse in the world of forms; however, the horse in the sensual world is only recognized and understood by people as “horse” because it has inherited the form and quality of horse. Plato did not explain how forms were produced; before the East Asian people saw a giraffe, or before the Europeans discovered platypus, where did their understanding of the forms of these two species come from? Perhaps the actual situation was the opposite: mankind does not identify and understand animals through an existing metaphysical knowledge system (such as forms); on the contrary, what we have always been doing is to understand and construct ourselves using animals as the medium of imagination.

Based on this topic, Zoo of Inverted Forms: The Ultimate Other for Imagining Humanity showcases works related to the theme of animals by seven contemporary artists from Taiwan and Russia: Amuse, Lin Pei-ying, Wu Shih-chin, Yao Jui-lan, and Marina Fomenko, Tou Yun-Fei and Chang Teng-Yuan. The purpose of the exhibition is not about displaying the different ways the artists “interpret” animals, but to explore the artists’ presentations of how mankind construct or reflect our specific systems of knowledge, religion, ethics, and aesthetics, through animals. If we never had a comprehensive and thorough knowledge system about animals, then what this exhibition aims to inspire in this age where Anthropocene is a much talked-about term is: we must accept the limitations of the nature of this epistemology, and understand that, on the actual survival level, or a more metaphysical level, such as the imagination and definition of “men,” the idea of myth and religion, and the system of ethics and morality, animals have always been humanity’s indispensable ultimate reference.

Date: 2020/10/24 – 2020/11/29 (Everyday 12:00-19:30)
Venue: Waley Art (No. 6, Lane 322, Wanda Road, Wanhua District, Taipei City, 108, Taiwan)

About the curator

CHU Feng-Yi

PENG Tsai-Hsuan
The Founder and Art Director of Waley Art, former executive director of the Taiwan Monga Culture Creative Center. He is the originator of the Galaya art Festival and the South Sour Water / Performance and Visual Art Festival. Peng has worked as the main project investigator with National Taiwan Arts Education Center, Asia Culture Center, Korean and Mediations Biennale Poznań, Poland. He is the organizer of the art administration and curatorial workshop for the Ministry of Culture in Taiwan. In 2015, Peng Tsai-Hsuan won the Best Art Award of the project “Art participate in Community” hosted by Taipei Fine Arts Museum and be invited as the keynote speaker in 2016 Taipei Biennale. He endeavors to support Waley Art cooperate with galleries, art festivals, biennials and art institutions around the world, including Russia, Poland, Germany, Austria, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, Bangladesh, Argentina.

Participating Artist

LIN Pei-Ying
WU Sih-Chin
YAO Jui-Lan
TOU Yun-Fei
CHANG Teng-Yuan
Amuse (LIN Chien-Yo, LIN Wei-Yo, SU Jia-Xian)
Marina FONMENKO

Lin Pei-Ying, Kaleidoscope of the Universes, 2015-2016, video, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo: Chen Yen-An.



Lin Pei-Ying, Kaleidoscope of the Universes, 2015-2016, video, mixed media installation, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. Photo: Chen Yen-An.



Wu Sih-Chin, Muntjac Imitation, 2019, single-channel video, 11min 53sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Wu Sih-Chin, Muntjac Imitation, 2019, single-channel video, 11min 53sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Yao Jui-Lan, Cleanliness is Next to Godliness, 2020, single-channel video, 10min 40sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Yao Jui-Lan, Cleanliness is Next to Godliness, 2020, single-channel video, 10min 40sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Amuse, Oil Sousa Chinensis, 2012, FRP, metals, 240 × 130 × 160 cm. Courtesy of the artist.



Amuse, Saws Chelonia Mydas, 2012, FRP, metals, 90 × 90 × 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist.



Marina Fomenko, Morning Milking, 2018, single-channel video, 5min 37sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Marina Fomenko, Morning Calf, 2018, single-channel video, 6min 16sec. Courtesy of the artist.



Link

Facebook: https://zh-tw.facebook.com/waleyart/

首頁 / 平行展 / 水谷藝術
Share on Twitter

水谷藝術

空間簡介

水谷藝術於2014年8月創立於臺灣臺北市,是一個以當代藝術為主,關注南萬華加蚋仔的文化歷史,以社區互動、駐村、國際內外策展為主的藝術計畫空間。於2016年策畫地區文化歷史為主的加蚋仔藝術季,2018年創辦酸水南行為影像藝術節,2018年協助營運臺北市政府所屬的艋舺龍山文創中心。曾與世界各地的美術館、藝術節、雙年展、藝術機構交流,包含俄羅斯、波蘭、德國、奧地利、日本、韓國、馬來西亞、香港、尼泊爾、新加坡、泰國、孟加拉、阿根廷等國。

展覽簡介

「倒置理型動物園:想像人性的終極他者」
「馬」是最常用來介紹柏拉圖「理型」的動物。哲學家說,在理型世界裡存在一匹永恆且完美的馬;而感官世界的馬,是因為繼承了馬的理型與特質,才被人們辨認、理解為「馬」。柏拉圖沒有解釋理型如何產生;當東亞人見到長頸鹿之前,或是歐洲人發現鴨嘴獸之前,他們對這兩個物種的理型從何而來?或許,實際的狀況其實是倒置的:人類並不是以一套固有的、形而上知識系統(如理型)來分辨與理解動物。恰恰相反,一直以來我們所做的,是透過動物做為想像的媒介來理解並建構人類自身。

「倒置理型動物園」以此為主題,展出與動物主題相關的臺灣與俄羅斯七位當代藝術家作品:阿木司、林沛瑩、吳思嶔、姚睿蘭、Marina Fomenko、杜韻飛、張騰遠。展覽的目的並不在展現藝術家們如何以不同的方式「詮釋」動物,而更是探討藝術家如何呈現出人們透過動物做為素材,建立或反映人類特定知識、宗教、倫理、以及美學體系。如果我們對於動物從未能有完整透徹的認識體系,那麼在這個人類世做為熱門詞彙的當下,這個展覽欲啟發的是:我們應接受這個認識論本質上的限制,並且理解不論在實際的生存面上,或是更為形而上的關於「人」的想像與定義、關於神話及宗教理念、關於道德倫理體系,動物一直是人類不可或缺的終極參照。

時間:2020/10/24 – 2020/11/29(每日12:00-19:30)
地點:水谷藝術(臺北市萬華區萬大路322巷6號)

策展人簡介

朱峯誼
英國牛津大學東方研究所博士畢業,主要研究領域為認同政治、國族主義、意識型態、情感社會學、論述分析。曾擔任牛津大學聖安東尼學院臺灣研究學程召集人、中研院社會學研究所博士後研究員。現為獨立策展人,曾在尼泊爾加德滿都、南韓水原策畫國際藝術聯展,2019年於臺北水谷藝術策展「重返神性:作為一位無神論的有神論者」獲當季台新藝術獎提名。

彭才瑄
水谷藝術創辦人暨總監,曾任艋舺龍山文創中心總監,創辦加蚋仔藝術季,創辦酸水南行為影像藝術節,曾於國立臺灣藝術教育館、韓國亞洲文化殿堂、波蘭中介雙年展擔任計畫主持人,曾於文化部藝術行政與策展工作坊擔任主辦人,獲得2015年臺北市立美術館藝術進入社區計畫獲最佳藝術獎,並於臺北雙年展論壇任與談人。曾協助水谷藝術與世界各地的美術館、藝術節、雙年展、藝術機構交流,包含俄羅斯、波蘭、德國、奧地利、日本、韓國、馬來西亞、香港、尼泊爾、新加坡、泰國、孟加拉、阿根廷等國。

參展藝術家

林沛瑩
吳思嶔
姚睿蘭
杜韻飛
張騰遠
阿木司(林建佑、林韋佑、蘇家賢)
瑪麗娜.佛門柯

林沛瑩,〈生之曼陀羅〉,2015-2016,錄像、複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。陳彥安攝影。



林沛瑩,〈生之曼陀羅〉,2015-2016,錄像、複合媒材裝置,尺寸視場地而定。藝術家提供。陳彥安攝影。



吳思嶔,〈山羌模仿術〉,2019,單頻道錄像,11分53 秒。藝術家提供。



吳思嶔,〈山羌模仿術〉,2019,單頻道錄像,11分53 秒。藝術家提供。



姚睿蘭,〈聖 / 潔〉,2020,單頻道有聲錄像,10 分40 秒。藝術家提供。



姚睿蘭,〈聖 / 潔〉,2020,單頻道有聲錄像,10 分40 秒。藝術家提供。



阿木司,〈後生物學-中華白油豚〉,2012,FRP、金屬,240 × 130 × 160公分。藝術家提供。



阿木司,〈後生物學-鋸齒綠蠵龜〉,2012,FRP、金屬,90 × 90 × 90公分。藝術家提供。



瑪麗娜.佛門柯,〈Morning Milking〉,2018,單頻道錄像,5分37秒。藝術家提供。



瑪麗娜.佛門柯,〈Morning Calf〉,2018,單頻道錄像,6分16秒。藝術家提供。



網站連結

臉書:https://zh-tw.facebook.com/waleyart/